I am fat.

Standard

Technically, I think the word is OVERWEIGHT, whatever.  I am happy to be fat.  (I would imagine, if you are reading this blog, you have some idea of who I am, what I look like.  I can’t fathom why you would be reading this if you didn’t know me, or how you would have found this, but hey, welcome!) 

For most of the last 10 years, I have not been fat, I have been obese.  Never morbidly obese, just ordinarily obese.  Truly, obese was not an identifier for me, I never really thought about it.  Pretty busy having babies, breastfeeding those babies (endlessly).  For about 8 of those 10 years I was either pregnant or lactating.  I either had a baby growing in my belly, or resting on that belly.  I didn’t see my feet for nearly a decade.  Pretty convenient excuse for not noticing obesity. 

About a year ago, we moved to Madison, became a one car family, started eating a lot more rice and beans.  I took a job that was more physical than ANYTHING I had ever done before.  I decided I wanted to lose a little weight.  Maybe 40 lbs.  So I lost 10, and thought, “that was easy, just 40 more to go”.  Then I got to 20, and thought “that wasn’t so bad, just 40 more to go”.  30 came and went, “Little tougher, but just another 40”

 

Well, 45lbs later, I am now fat, and happy, and have 40lbs to go.

 I am not naïve enough to believe that getting from fat to “just right” will be nearly as painless as going from obese to “just fat” has been.  I imagine this last 40 will really hurt.  It already hurts.  Now I have to step up the exercise AND forgo 2nds at the dinner table.  Now I will have to really make an effort, no, that is not true, I won’t be able to get to “just right” with effort.  This is going to take WORK.  Ugh.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. I think it was changing jobs, and lifestyles. We went from a suburban family to an urban family. Less dependent on our car, more dependent on our feet. My job was very physical, factory work, 12 hour shifts, moving all the time. It was great.

Leave a Reply

