I grieve for my daughter

Standard

She is the only girl in our little family.  She is the youngest, with 2 older brothers, in reality not a bad place to be.

  But she doesn’t have a sister, and the probability is that she never will.  

 Sure, she will make friends, and they will be close, and (thankfully) she has “girl-cousins” just a year or so on either side of her, and I pray that they will be closer still, “sister-cousins” perhaps. 

Like my daughter, I am the youngest, and I have 2 older brothers.  Unlike my daughter, I have sisters, 2 older sisters.  When I look at my little girl, and realize that she will never truly know the beauty and pain that comes with having a sister, I can’t help but feel she is missing out on something inexplicably wonderful. 

Carol is my elder by nearly 10 years, and Lucy by over 6 years. Because of this age difference I can’t testify to what it was really like when we were growing up.  Both sisters went off to college right after high school, so truly, I was still pretty little when they were out of the house.  They came back for summers, busy working.  Then I was working, really never home, so that part of our lives together is a bit fuzzy.  (My brothers and parents would say that there were a lot of bathroom wars, and a lot of yelling.  I suppose that is true.  Maybe I have blocked those memories out).

 

But eventually I grew up.  And got to know my sisters.  How lucky I am to have them.  They are the women I hope to become. 

sisters2.jpg

Sandie, Lucy, our mom and Carol(with her baby)

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. Sisters are a wonderful gift! I am the oldest of three girls, and I love them both dearly. My brother is the baby and only boy. He was very excited when our sister got married and her husband joined the family! Ready for them to get married yet?!! =)

  2. Sisters are great even through the tough times. My sister was 11 years older so we did not enjoy being sisters until I grew up and she moved back home.

    love the blog!

Leave a Reply

