And so it ends.

Standard

kjellsoccer.jpgbodersoccer1.jpg 

The fall soccer season has ended for my boys.  For the last 6 weeks I have dutifully driven my blue mini-van here, there and everywhere.  I, somehow, became keeper of the team ball bag for Kjell’s team, and consequently was required to show up at each practice.  This was good for me.  I knew nothing about soccer.  I learned a lot.

It was not so good for the boys on Kjell’s team.  A couple of times I ended up filling in for the coach, I knew nothing about soccer, but I am really good at yelling at kids.  They survived these episodes, not entirely without tears, but they did survive, and some of the parents still talk to me!  I am thankful. 

Broder’s games were always early on Saturday mornings.  Parents arrived with coffee in hand and hats on their heads, it was way too much work to get up in time to shower.  For the last couple games we sat in our chairs, bundled in sweaters and blankets, mittens and gloves:  fall mornings can be quite chilly!

Kjell’s games were later on Saturdays.  The crowds, though smaller, were a bit more alive(like a lizard in the sun, I suppose).  Parents chatted more, caffine coursing through their veins for several hours now.  Younger siblings ran around.  We all relished this forced bit of time outdoors.  Fall afternoons in Madison have been glorious this year!

I was reluctant to enter the world of “soccer mom”, but I did, and I have emerged on the other side, mostly unscathed.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

Leave a Reply

