I feel compelled…..

Standard

to make this blog more than pictures and a bland recounting of my life. 

I read the blogs of others, people I know, and blogs I stumble upon, and am humbled by the depth of their musings and the strength of their writing. 

Reading how daily life impacts others, how the mundane is so not, this moves me.  It is reassuring to find that other people  are also struck with the enormity of their responsibilities, while doing dishes. 

The pain and joy that is shared across the world, the triumphs and failures, this is treasure unburied.  Boundless riches, I believe this, are laid out in the pages we view on our screens.  The courage and knowledge of others, is right there.  What a gift. 

So, my hope is, somehow, someday, something I say will challenge, encourage or inspire. 

In the meantime….

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. Dear Sandie!!

    You have inspired and encouraged and challenged me from the first time I visited you. Do you know I still haven’t finished that denim quilt? (But I’m close, just have to sew the strips together and sew the backing and binding on!!)

    But that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Your wonderfully positive attitude towards your then-small and very active boys has been SO helpful as I have dealt with my now-small and very active boys. You have taught me that boys can be fun, that midwifery care is “way better” than the alternative, that happy children are more important than having a big fancy house, that the best thing a mother can do (even before housework) is being involved with her children. You continue to tell me that I am ok and loved. And that encourages me immensely!

    Thank you so much!!

  2. Well said, “Mama”, and I say the same. I am encouraged and inspired to know I’m not the only one “struck with the enormity of my responsibilities”. I have to share with you, Sandie, that just last week I was telling my husband about how all of a sudden God has been putting young, newly-married women in my life…and that I feel Him suddenly placing me in the roll of mentor. I told him that suddenly I’m the one teaching bread-making or jam-making or modeling motherhood…just like I have been blessed time and time again by my mentors…”like Sandie L. with her sewing and apple creation-making”. You are inspiring and encouraging more than you know, dear Sister!

  3. Man, I know how you feel!
    SOOOO many good writers out there, and I’ve never counted myself among them. But don’t let it pressure you . . . you’ll get your groove here, and let me tell you, I find you delightful, but then, I’m family, and a bit biased . . .LOL

Leave a Reply

