All sorts of love…

Standard

This morning I found myself lost in thought as I ran.  This happens a lot. It is wonderful, as getting lost in my head helps me forget about the pain in my knees. 

Today I started thinking about all the love in my life.  I love a lot.  I use the word love freely, and I mean it.  I have been blessed with so much, so many, to love.  I thought about all the different people I love.  I thought about the different types of love. 

I love my friends.  I love them with the freedom that comes from not having to live with them.  This love sounds silly, but it is true.  I love my friends, and because I am not with them all the time, things that might drive me nuts, don’t.  This love is comfortable.  This love is joyful.   This love is fun. 

I love my siblings.  I love them with a loyalty that defies reason.  This love comes from a lifetime of shared memories, common experiences. This love is easy.  This love I take for granted, I know that.

I love my parents.  I really love my parents.  I love them with a child’s love, even now, at 36.  I still want, and strive for, their approval.  This love is a grateful love.  This love breaks my heart as I watch them age, become frail somehow.  This love does not want to accept that someday they will not be there for me to tell them how much I love them.  This love always has been, always will be.

I love my husband.  I chose this love many years ago.  I choose this love everyday.   This love makes my pulse race.  This is a love of willing compromise.  This love is layered:  emotional, physical, spiritual.  This love changes, ebbs and flows, runs deep and quiet:  sometimes, rages like a storm:  sometimes.  This is a great love. 

I love my children.  I love them with impossible, truly frightening intensity.  This love protects.  This love is tender.  This love is primal.  This is a mother’s love.

I love my Lord.  This is a hard love for me.  This love I strive to articulate, understand, accept.  I am unworthy to even claim this love.  This love humbles me.  This love has saved me. 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

5 responses »

  1. I don’t love as I should,
    I don’t love as I could,
    but where Grace is abouding in me
    I will love where He would.

    V&V have updated me on your mom.
    My heart rends.
    Mostly I think of your Dad.

  2. How beautifully articulated. I am blessed to be in your circle of love. Even though we are not related I think we share cousin love for each other. That is how I think of your whole family. Now you need to write a new paragraph.

Leave a Reply

