I have some tips…

Standard

that will make your next move more fun than you ever thought possible. 

  •   move during the last 1/2 of December.  There is nothing like Christmas lights draped over  piles of boxes to add some ambiance to your home.
  • move just after your spouse has taken a new job. Best if your spouse is a bit of a workaholic and this job takes him/her out of state 2 weeks a month, returning home 1 week before the date of the move(and 4 days before Christmas)
  • move during finals week.  This is most effective if you or your spouse are in grad school.  Unimaginable fun if your spouse is pursing the degree, AND has a new job 4000 miles away.
  • move the week a wicked stomach virus is going around.  4 year olds can really get some impressive distance when they vomit at 2:39am.
  • move the week it snows 5 out of 7 days.  Really snows, enough to shovel the driveway, or 2 driveways if you are moving across town, a couple of times a day. (This last bit only has to happen 1 out of 5 days of snow, more fun than that might be too much to bear).
About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

4 responses »

  1. Oh Sandie!! I feel for you! Twice we moved while I was pregnant, that was bad enough without having to deal with snow and the like.

    We’ll be praying that your virus, snow, and finals will go a little more smoothly.

    How do you keep it all together????

  2. I guess that everything will get barfed into your new home by midnight on Dec 31st. Then you can sit back and say everything will eventually get taken care of – it may be months or longer though. That is how I felt when Anders was 9 days old (remember how frantic I was for various reasons when he was 8 days old?) It is his first birthday today. I’m at the hospital/work wishing I could go up to the room I had a year ago and find myself there and give myself some advice.

  3. I am so excited for your move. To bad so much has to come at one time. Snow,Flu,& whatever else can fit in. I am very envious that you will have so much room & in a nice neighborhood. The best in your new adventure.

Leave a Reply

