Books, books, books…

Standard

den1.jpg 

In our tiny apartment we had 3 rooms(not including the bathroom) and in those 3 rooms we had a total of 9 bookcases. There was even a bookcase in the kitchen.   The bookcases were full.  On each shelf, books were stacked on top of books.  Vertical, and horizontal, and haphazard.  On the floor in each of those 3 rooms, in front of and around the 9 bookcases, were stacks of books.  Under our beds were boxes of books.   In our car there were bags of books.bagofbooks.jpg

Now we are moved into our new house, our 9 bookcases have been joined  by at least 2 more, and a coffee table, a great new place to put our books.  We have one closet now dedicated to books, 3 cupboards in the kitchen full of books(no room in this kitchen for a true bookshelf), behind a chair in the living room sit 3 baskets full of library books,  and still, boxes and boxes of books to be unpacked and organized. 

kitchen1.jpg

sunnysbooks.jpgbooksonsteps1.jpg

boysbox.jpg

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

9 responses »

  1. my husband told me once, when I asked him if we really need all these books: “my dream is this, when I am an old man, I want to sit in my library surrounded by books”. Dream came true, I guess he must be old now.

  2. LOVE IT! Looks like our house. We do try and go through them from time to time…getting rid of the “baby books” that the boys have outgrown (that Mommy can bear to part with) and others that we don’t think we’ll re-read or aren’t particularly special to us. The majority, however, sit around in warped bookshelves, closets, baskets…in all sorts of nooks and crannies. They are, after all, like old friends (not that I’d stuff my other old friends into nooks and crannies…well, maybe some of them!) and are quite hard to part with!

  3. Our dream also was to have a LIBRARY in our house. Not in this one, obviously. We got rid of dozens of BOXES of books when we moved in here, and yet we still have LOTS and LOTS and no place to put ’em.

    My little M saw your pics and he said, “Hey us got that one!”

  4. All I can think of when I look at these books is: “Sandie, if we ever both find ourselves widowed, minds still in tact, lets live together -I can read your books and you can read mine.” Now that is something to look forward to.

  5. When I was a teenager (lo these many years ago)my mother had one room that was the library, wall to wall books and an extra wall of bookshelves down the middle. Since my parents also had six kids and not enough bedrooms my bed was in the library…it was great!

Leave a Reply

