We live too close…

Standard

to the grocery store to justify driving, even when it is raining.  I needed milk and bread(could have made the bread, I suppose, but no longer produce any milk, so a trip really had to happen).

So, in an attempt to rack up some “I truly am a good mother” points, I bundled Sunny into the stroller, wrapped a blanket around her, and covered her with a rain poncho.  Our beloved bike trailer/stroller is almost 11 years old now and the rain cover has long since disappeared. 

Anyway, on our little walk to the store, maybe 3/4 of  a mile, the temperature began to drop.  The rain turned to sleet, then ice pellets.  We picked up our milk, and bread, some fruit and headed back out.  The ice pellets were still coming down as we walked to the video store to return some movies, and then to pick up the boys after school.  All total we spent about an hour walking around town.  I was worried that Sunny was going to get cold, as I certainly was!

My fears were unfounded:  she was “snug like a rug” she told me upon waking. 

snowysunny.jpg

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

Leave a Reply

