Giving up.

Standard

diet-coke.jpg

It’s 11:54pm, Fat Tuesday, and my party is in full swing, swilling a cold Diet Coke.  I have to drink it fast,  Lent begins tomorrow,  in 6 minutes. 

 I didn’t grow up “giving something up” for Lent.  I was raised in the Pietist  tradition. Saved by grace, not works.  

As I have gotten older, I have found myself wanting, needing, to give something up for Lent.  I know that my salvation is a gift of God’s grace, nothing I can earn, nothing I can repay. 

And it is easy for me to get so busy that the wonder of that precious gift just flies right out of my head.  I take it for granted.  Tragic. 

So now, I give something up, not every year, but most.  I do this to remind me of the great sacrifice that was made, Christ’s blood;  that I might spend eternity celebrating. 

It is my fervent hope that for the next several weeks, each time I reach for a Diet Coke, and find nothing, I will take a moment to remember. 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. You are giving up diet coke!!! Brave girl. Are you getting your caffine any other way? Let me know how it is going. I’m going to give up sugar/HFCS drinks and candy that is pure sugar. Perhaps not so hard for me since I’m not a daily imbiber of either.

Leave a Reply

