For you church history buffs…

Standard

Here is a little ditty I wrote last year, when I was still ridiculously sleep deprived.

In parenthesis are the titles of the (mostly) familiar tunes to which the words are set.

Enjoy, or not.   

 

 

 

Martin Luther Medley

 (My bologna has a 1st name)

 My reformer has a 1st name,

It’s M A R T Y

 My reformer has a 2nd name,

 L U T H E R…

(Take me out to the Ball game)

Take me out of confession,

Throw me out in the streets

 There are many things I’d like to say,

But you tell me that I cannot preach

So, I’ll write them all down on paper,

 Nail them to the Wittenburg door

1, 2, 3 thesis nailed,

 Only ninety-two more

(99 bottles of beer on the wall)

95 thesis nailed to the door,

 95 thesis to read,

Take one down, read it aloud,

 94 thesis nailed to the door (and so on)

 (A Mighty Fortress)

 The Catholic Church will rue the day They threw out Martin Lu-u-u-ther.

 There were things with which he did not agree

 And it made them very ner-r-vous

 That made poor Martin sad,

 But Katie made him glad

 That former nun and monk

 Debunked a lot of junk

And then were formed the Lutherans

 (99 bottles of beer)

 (Pick up where left off, invite audience participation)

92 thesis nailed to the door…

  BIG FINALE:

 (I wish I were an Oscar Meyer Wiener)

 I wish I were a m’deviel church reformer

There’s nothing on this earth I’d rather be

 For if I were a m’deviel church reformer

Everyone would sing the hymns by ME

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

4 responses »

  1. Wow, Sandie, this has all the makings of a great Broadway musical!! I especially like that you used “A Mighty Fortress,” now the question is: would Mr Luther be rolling in his grave or rocking out? It’s amazing how creative one can be when one hasn’t slept enough. Have you caught up on your sleep now?

Leave a Reply

