more answered prayer…

Standard

For a few months, our dear puppy, Entropy, had a bump on his right rear paw about the size of a garbanzo bean.  This wasn’t a huge concern, he is getting older, dogs get bumps, whatever.  Then, about 6 weeks ago or so, the bump began to grow, first a little, and then like crazy, until 3 weeks ago it had broken through the skin, protruding above his paw rather alarmingly, like a partially submerged walnut. 

  It was an ugly lump.  Red, raised and a nasty texture.  Sunny thought it looked a bit like an exposed brain.  She took to calling this little thing “Entropy’s foot brain”.  (who knows where my 5 year old has seen a brain, but that is another post). 

Not a very pleasant sight.  It became apparent we needed to get this taken care of.  So off to the vet we trotted, but not before I had spent far too much time reading up on all the horrible things this could be.  I was very worried.  Entropy is a great dog, and he has a lot of people who are very attached to him.  I couldn’t bear the thought of this growth being cancerous.  I was a wreck. 

So, $600 later, the “foot brain” is gone and a week of waiting for biopsy results began. 

Sometimes I wouldn’t really think about it.  Sometimes I would be sure the next phone call would bring bad news. 

My wonderful friends and family would call and ask how the dog was, and if we knew anything.  “No”.  “not yet”. 

Then, 1 week and 1 day later, the results were in. 

BENIGN. 

I know, he is just a dog.  But he is more than that too.  And this was the answer we had hoped for. 

Thank you, God!

 

  

 

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. Not “just a dog”….but a wonderful, special gift from God who has taught you much about love and life. All of creation (including dogs) declare His glory. I’m so happy for the good report!

Leave a Reply

