After all these years…

Standard

I really should have it figured out. I always know WHEN, it’s the WHAT that throws me. Sadly, I am a slow learner.

For the 14 of the last 23 years (this is factoring in pregnancy and over 6  years of breastfeeding), every month it has been the same thing. 

I puff up like a blow-fish, face breaks out, mood alternates between weeping sap and Brunhilda the bad witch. 

I  know this is coming, and each month, after some sort of emotional devastation, I say to myself:

 “next month, I will know this is coming, and I will take it is stride when my kids behave like children, I won’t freak out when they forget to take their dishes to the sink, or protest about a shower.”

and each month I say to my self:

“next month, I will remember, it is not great writing that is making me weep when I read this book, it is a just a book, not some heretofore untold revelation about the human spirit”. 

And so this month:

It was all a big surprise again.  (I guess in someways that is fine, after all, it probably means that Dave can give me the same gift every year for my birthday and I will be equally thrilled each time.)

Yesterday, I was listening to a good book, not a great book, when the end of the story sent me sobbing from the kitchen in a frantic search for tissue. 

Yesterday, I couldn’t button my pants.

Yesterday, Kjell noticed that I had more pimples on my face than he does. 

Yesterday, I blew my top when soccer gear was left in the middle of the den.    

Next month, it WILL be different.  I am going to make a little sign to remind me, maybe 8×10 ft, and place it above the couch in the living room.  Neon letters, perhaps, that say:

“PMS: coming soon to this living room, don’t miss it!”

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. Sepia, 30C, taken at the first sign of your symptoms. Or, if possible, before you expect your symptoms to start (although I also cannot predict this regular, routine, and VERY predictable event, grrrrr!!) My family likes it when I remember to take it. (My symptoms are more along the lines of “angry mama dog.” 😀

    Wait, is your boy old enough for pimples??!!?? NO!!!!! We’re getting old!!

Leave a Reply

