I messed up the cookies…

Standard

I was scheduled to bring the snacks this week for the fellowship time we have between our church service and Sunday school.  Really this is kind or daunting, as the bar is set pretty high.  Most Sundays there is quite the spread, fresh fruits, coffee cake, crackers, cheeses, hummus, coffee and a couple different kinds of juice.  Some Sundays it is even more exciting, and there are Ho-Hos(my favorite) and Twinkies, and even Kool aid. 

So, being the insecure, I-want-everyone-to-like-me, person that I am, I was really feeling the pressure.  How could I bridge the gap between the 2 extremes? 

HOMEMADE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES. 

Because they  are homemade, they are somehow acceptable for the healthy folks, and because they are loaded with chocolate chips, butter and 2 kinds of sugar, well, those of us who come down on the Ho-Ho camp are satisfied as well.

So I went to work.  Fired up the trusty Kitchen-Aid, set the butter out to soften, unearthed the measuring spoons and cups. 

I put 2 recipes out in front of me, figuring that I would look them both over and decide which one I would use.  Well, I started with one recipe, and somewhere in the middle of things realized that I had been mixing the 2.   Now the recipes were similar, but not the same, and I suffer from a bit of a chocolate chip cookie curse anyway.  My blood pressure went through the roof. 

I tried to figure out what I did, started doing calculations in my head, throwing in more of this and that. 

RAN OUT OF FLOUR. 

Live next door to Whole foods, so took a little break from the mayhem, and bought more flour, at 4x the price I would normally pay(but hey, the flour came in a lovely recycled and compostable bag).

At some point it be came apparent that my beloved Kitchen-Aid would not be able to handle the 5 cups of butter, 8 eggs, 3.25 cups of brown sugar(packed of course), 10 tsp of vanilla, 60 ounces of chocolate chips and the 11.5 cups of flour that were needed to bring recipe into line with the original 2.5 cups of white sugar I had dumped in the bowl. 

So I creamed the eggs, sugars, butter, and vanilla.  And I put all the rest of the ingredients into the largest bowl I had.  I then mixed them together.  and mixed and mixed and mixed.  It was a monumental task.  I was literally up to my elbows in cookie dough. 

Then I had to bake them.  Because I had sort of rescued this recipe, I wasn’t sure exactly how they were going to bake(did I really put in enough baking soda and salt, or was it too much).  So I messed with times and temps and finally, after about 1.5 hours of cookie baking I had the information I needed.  I also had a load of cookie mistakes. 

Said a little prayer and baked the rest. 

3 hours later, I loaded the finished product into the car and headed for church. 

After the fellowship time was done, I surveyed the damage.  4 cookies left. 

It was a cookie miracle. 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. Sandie, they were great! AS were the mini banana bread loaves. I should have brought two of the extra cookies home for the puppies! We could let them be the final authorities on whether or not you were successful!

    with infinite hope, Jim

Leave a Reply

