Train whistles and thunderstorms…

Standard

if I could design Heaven, it would include train whistles and thunderstorms. 

Nearly every night, at about 10:30pm, the train passes through, just 3 blocks from my bedroom window. 

I make it a point to be in bed, lights off, window open, lying there at 10:30pm.  Waiting.  Ready to jump onto that train, ride the rails into my dreams. 

I feel this same passion for nighttime thunderstoms.  As long as I can remember, thunderstorms have thrilled me.  I love the illuminated clouds of the lightning filled sky, the rumble of thunder.  Sometimes it takes all my will not to run outside and stand there in the midst of that dangerous beauty.  Sometimes, I lose the battle.  Those are the best nights. 

 Over the last couple of weeks we have had some wonderful spring thunderstorms. 

Imagine my delight when the other night, the lightning flashed, the thunder clapped, and the train whistle blew:  at 10:30pm. 

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. Back when we lived in the cabin in the woods in Wasilla, we could hear the train even out there. It was a comforting sound, not too loud.

    There are NO trains around here.

    I miss hearing the train.

  2. Reminds me of when I was a little kid and we went to my grandma and grandpa’s house in Lowry, out Highway 55, by Glenwood. At night the train would come by and I always thought it was so cool, hearing it coming and getting closer and closer and then it was here and then gone!

  3. I could get down with that! I love thunderstomes too, and here in Mexico, I’ve grown fond of the rooster crow and the yelp of coyotes. All three I only like from the comforts of INSIDE.

Leave a Reply

