This is how I like it…

Standard

today a friend called and asked if her son could walk home with my boys and hang out a while, as she had a girl scout meeting to lead.  A little bit later, a friend of Kjell’s called to ask if he could come over and play after school.  When I got to school to walk home with the boys, one of Broder’s friends asked if he could play as well.  Yes, yes, yes.

So I walked home with a pile of kids, and another mom.  She came in, had a drink of water and visited while the kids played.  Eventually my friend and her son left.  This left 2 extra kids.   Kjell’s friend then asked if we could all have dinner together(meaning our family and his). 

So I called his mom, we planned a menu(brats, hot dogs, salad, corn on the cob).  Yippee!

Another one of Kjell’s friends called, could he come over to our house and play.  Yes. 

So now I was up to 3 extra kids, and one adult on the way. 

The girl scout leader’s kid gets picked up. 

2 extra kids, one extra adult. 

Another phone call:  “I heard my kid is there”   “Yes, if we feed him, what will you do, eat cereal?”  “probably”   “well, we will feed you too”  “I’ll bring a bottle of wine”  “Great, see you soon”.

2 extra kids, 2 extra adults. 

As we are sitting on the porch, enjoying brats and wine, a friend and his son walk by.

“Hey, want a brat?”   “Yes”  “want a beer?”  “yes”  “come on up, have a seat”

3 extra kids, 3 extra adults.

Adults talking and laughing, kids playing and eating. 

It’s a party. 

9pm:   we all realize it is not summer yet and our kids all have school tomorrow. 

Hasty exit, house is a wreck.  One friend e-mails and says sorry we left you a mess.  

 a bit of a mess is a small price to pay. 

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

4 responses »

  1. Wow. . . I am shaking . . . I guess I’m way too into the “keep the house tidy and the kids on schedule” thing. I definitely need to lighten up!!

    Although, here it’s sunny and bright until after 10 pm. Daddy was working on the steps outside and Lil’ J and Lil’ M were out “helping” him, in their jammies after their baths, until about 945.

    They are still asleep now, at 9 am.

Leave a Reply

