I don’t normally spend my Friday evenings wet and caged…

Standard

But this last week, I did just that. 

 It was the school fun fair at the boys’ school, and while I was doing lunchroom duty earlier in the day I heard there was a shortage of volunteers for the dunk tank.  I have always enjoyed watching people get dunked, have always enjoyed dunking.  And since I have no shame, or maybe it is pride, whatever:  no sense of decorum, that is for sure.  So, I told the kids that I would take a turn.  They seemed pretty excited about that. 

After my stint in the lunchroom, I stopped in at Kjell’s classroom.  I didn’t even make it through the door when the teacher sauntered over with a grin and said “I have heard the news, that’s all they have talked about since lunch”.

That evening, as we approached the school grounds, there was a little cluster of kids at the edge of the field.  They spotted us and a cry arose.  “KJell’s mom is coming, Kjell’s mom is coming”.  Off the kids tore to warn the others.  I stalled a bit, but eventually got up into the tank and sat on my little perch. (which felt very small, since my bulk was spilling over the edges.  enough of the self-loathing).

A crowd gathered, my kids’ friends, and many of their parents.  Ugh.  A little taunting(from me, not the kids) and the throws began.  After maybe 10 minutes, I went down for the first time, felled by the wicked throw of a 10 year old.  Back up for more.  30 minutes and 2 more dunkings, and I crawled out of the tank.  Happy to relinquish my throne to the music teacher. 

Really, it was fun, a bit cold, the temp was about 60 and the water was straight from the hose, but worth it. Cemented my status as the “crazy parent”, and that is just fine with me. 

NOW YOU SEE ME…

NOW YOU DON”T

No, the gentleman enthusiastically pumping his fist in the air is not Dave.  Believe it or not, that is on of our dearest friends…  Hmmm. 

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

Leave a Reply

