Singing Spring..

Standard

The boys had their spring concerts at school today.  I am so thrilled with the creativity I see expressed within their school, and the music they performed was no exception. 

Broder’s class showed off their recoder skills and sang such classics as “make new friends, but keep the old”, “fifty nifty united states” and wowed us all with their rendition of “On Wisconsin”, the UW fight song.  I love living in a university town.  But the best by far was seeing 100+ 2nd and 3rd graders belting out the theme to SpongeBob Squarepants.  Truly remarkable. 

Kjell’s class sang “Dust in the Wind”, “Somewhere over the Rainbow”, “What a Wonderful World”, a couple of songs in foreign languages,  ending with “All Star” by Smashmouth, also known as the theme from Shrek. Kids were playing air guitar, pretending to sing into microphones, dancing.  It was great. 

I am so thankful that my kids have been able to attend a school where teachers can, and do, go beyond the expected.  This kind of freedom of expression is why, each and every day,  my boys are excited to go to school.  And this is why my daughter can hardly wait to go to kindergarten in the fall.  What a gift. 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

  1. Kindergarten?? Already?? Where has the time gone? My little one is almost 1 year old.

    Times have changed, haven’t they. We’d have NEVER sang anything like that in school!!

Leave a Reply

