So, I have 2 legs…

Standard

and they are big legs.  A couple extra pounds around the top of each thigh, dimples at the knees(this is cute on little kids, not on their mothers), ankles dangerously close to the “cankle” zone. 

And I am so thankful for my big, dimply, sturdy legs. 

Sunny and I walked to the library today, it’s a ways, just about 2 miles there, so a 4 mile round trip.  On the way home we stopped at the grocery store.  While we were there a young woman was moving through the aisles.

On crutches, with just 1 leg. 

It was obvious that she had been living with 1 less leg for a very long time.  She whipped around the grocery store, doing what all of us were doing there this afternoon, buying groceries. 

Sunny, being a little kid, asked “why does she have just one leg, mama?’ 

 I  didn’t know the answer, I still don’t.  I tried to explain it could have been that she lost her leg in an accident, or to a disease, or perhaps she was born with just one leg.

But what I do know is this:

When I take my nightly walk around the neighborhood, I will say a prayer of thanks with each step.   

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. Wow. . . changing a diaper and typing with her toes. . . if you didn’t look closely they almost look like hands!!

    Yup, we’ve definitely got lots of things for which to be thankful.

Leave a Reply

