My kids have great friends..

Standard

 and those little friends have nice parents.  Here is a sampling of how this combination impacts my life on a regular basis. 

This morning, shortly after 8am, the doorbell rang, and there stood one of the boys’ friends with a bag of salad greens.  From his dad’s garden.  Yum, lunch. 

And this is not unusual.  It is truly amazing. 

Yesterday, another parent/friend stopped by with hot lentil soup and venison sausage, I had just made bread, and we all had dinner. 

Sunday and Monday, that same parent/friend stopped by with potted plants and hanging plants for our deck.  Her mother had passed away last week, and when they ordered flowers for the funeral, they ordered living plants that they could give to friends and family. I was really touched to be a recipient. 

Monday, I was asked  by the sister of a different parent/friend if I wanted a piano.  Crazy, and yes! 

Last Friday, as I was leaving the boys’ school, I was stopped by another parent/friend and told that she had been given 2 sewing machines, would I like one?  Umm, sure!  (this will replace my $6.99 table top machine I got at Goodwill, though NOT my commercial machine I got from my mother-in-law, thank you Carol!)

Last week, at some point yet another parent/friend, stopped by with some tomato plants for my little garden.  Last night my lentil soup parent/friend helped me weed my garden and plant those tomato plants.

This whole parent/friend thing has been a huge, wonderful unexpected blessing that I had no idea was in the wings when I sent my kids off to school. 

So, I will continue to thank God for these new friends, and continue to bake cookies for their kids.  It is the least that I can do. 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

  1. Wow, that is SO awesome! Especially the piano. (Similarly, ours came from a couple at church who were “downsizing.”) This sharing around thing is absolutely amazing and makes me want to share what I’ve got as well. “What goes around, comes around!”

Leave a Reply

