2 babies….

Standard

my oldest sister, Carol, is expecting her 2nd baby in November. 

My dear, dear friends, Cathy and Jim Stanley-Erickson will travel soon to meet their daughter, bringing her home to Madison the 2nd week of July. 

Every time I think about these 2 babies, I have to fight off tears.  Most of the time, the tears win the battle.

I will get to see Cathy and Jim’s wee one before I move, but I won’t get to really know her.  I won’t be here to watch my friends revel in the joys of parenthood.  I won’t be here to offer my imperfect support when it may be needed. 

I won’t see Carol’s baby right away, the way I did within hours of the birth of her first child.  I won’t be here to help with her/his first bath, as I did with Carol’s daughter.  I won’t be here to spend those first weeks, while Carol is on maternity leave, sitting in her living room, just being sisters. 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. It’s so hard to be away from loved ones…particularly the wee ones who don’t stay “wee” very long. For what it’s worth, I will love to have you nearby in January to take you up on your offer for “imperfect support when it may be needed”.

  2. You share a lot with my “sister/daughter” in this way. She is pulled into at least four different states with her longing to be close to friends and family, and their children. It’s just not possible to be so involved with everyone, especially those who are so distant.

    Thank goodness for Internet!

Leave a Reply

