It’s not all tears and sorrow…

Standard

There are some really exciting things about this move. 

Dave has taken a new position and he is thrilled.  It is fun to see my husband so happy and a little nervous about the new responsibility.  He loves a challange, and this will be one. 

We will be closer to my inlaws.  Dave’s folks will only be 750 miles away, rather than 4000.  We love Dave’s folks, and haven’t seen them enough the last 6 years. 

We have wonderful, faithful friends in Alaska.  It will be great to reconnect and get caught up.  Several of these friends have kids I have only seen pictures of, it will be so much fun to meet these little ones.

There will be new friends to meet.  New neighbors to suck into the vortex which any house we live in seems to become. 

The mountains and the ocean.  The LONG LONG LONG summer days.  The LONG LONG LONG winter nights.  These are things I am looking forward to, that I enjoyed before, and I know I will love again. 

Humpy’s, and Gwennie’s Old Alaska restaurants, rest assured, when you come to visit us, we will take you to one or both of these. 

So, start planning those trips.  Whether you would be visiting from the MatSu Valley, Minnesota, Madison, or Mexico(that’s a hint for you Michelle!)

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

5 responses »

  1. WHAT????!!!!! WOOO HOOOO! There are NO tears and sorrow on this end, my friend! I am so surprised and cannot wait to see you all again! I thought we were going to be graced with a visit this summer….but didn’t realize we’d be fellow “Valley Trash” once again. 🙂 Welcome home, you guys! When’s the date and where will you be? Details please… I will be praying for you. I know you’ve grown deep roots where you are and have wonderful friends you will be leaving behind. I empathize with that and pray for smooth transition. Let me know how we can help in any way….

  2. Sandie,
    You’re moving!? I’ll miss you and your family. It has been awesome having you in Madison. Thanks for all the advice before I traveled to Alaska last summer. (You didn’t tell me about Humpy’s, but I found it on Midsummer night. Dan and I thought the name was great and had to stop.) Alaska is a beautiful state. Best wishes with the move. I’ll have to work on getting back to Alaska sometime to visit. Keep in touch.

  3. yea!!! 750 miles of road is so much more friendly than travel agents, air mileage, security checks, etc etc! I can hardly wait to see ‘our kids’ more often than once in 18 months. oh joy, oh joy!

  4. Ironically, I miss the mountains now. And the thunderstorms. I guess there’s always something to miss.

    On the other hand, perhaps one advantage of home schooling is that we can visit more?

Leave a Reply

