33 days…

Standard

That is how much time we have before the move to Alaska.  It is not enough, and it seems like forever.  The flight is scheduled, the tickets are paid for and we have our seat assignments.  Buying one way tickets was so strange. 

The kids and I will leave Minneapolis July 31st at 9:20am, arriving in Alaska 12:09pm.  (Dave will leave for Alaska July 15th and will join us in Anchorage August 5th).  Crazy. 

The movers will come July 15/16 to pack our stuff and ship our car. 

This move is so different than any other move I have ever done. 

Every move I have been a part of has been on the cheap, usually really cheap.  In all our previous moves, we have sold, or more likely given away, everything we didn’t feel like we NEEDED or LOVED.  Furniture etc, we have never taken that, never had anything worth paying the shipping on, never had furniture that we couldn’t replace at Goodwill for $20 at our next destination. 

Every other move I have ever been a part of has involved loads and loads of driving.  Whether it was to nothern Minnesota to attend college, or when my in-laws drove all our stuff to Alaska after our wedding, to the different houses we lived in while in Alaska(all over Anchorage, and then the Valley), then the move back to Minnesota (7 days in a 1986 Volvo wagon, 2 dogs, 2 kids, 2 car top carriers, 10 weeks pregnant and wretchedly morning sick), the move to Madison, and then across Madison (just over a mile, but at least 40 trips in our little van).

Now, after nearly 16 years of marriage and collecting, our household possessions look a little different.  We still don’t have much:  a couch, a kitchen table and chairs, 9 bookcases, a big Persian rug,  a couple of harps, a piano, and the most amazing computer desk.  Oh, and mattresses.  But not real bed-frames. That story is long and involved, I will tell you all about it some other time. 

And books, we left Alaska with 53 boxes of books.  Now we have more.  5 years of graduate school and 3 kids who love to read has meant that our collection has increased.

This time the move is paid for. We have what seems like an unlimited number of pounds we can move.  And I keep getting told NOT to pack. The movers will come, pack up our stuff, put it in a container, ship it to Seattle where it will get placed on a barge and sailed to Anchorage.  There the moving company will bring it to our new home, unload and UNPACK. 

I feel a bit like Cinderella at the ball, a bit out of my league here.  And loving it.  This is our 4th move in 6 years.  I am SO happy not to do the heavy lifting this time.  Don’t wake me up from this dream.

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. YAY!! I like that idea. I’m so glad they are moving you up, taking care of it. My last two moves have been 3rd trimester of pregnancy. I couldn’t lift a box if my life depended on it! Both times God provided people to help us, from packing and moving boxes to cleaning. It’s still amazing to me!

    So, you’ll be here mid-day on 7/31? That is very soon! Can’t wait to see ya!

  2. What a wonderful but disorienting way to move in contrast to the recent past. Will hope all goes smoothly and this frees you up to do more enjoyable things before departure.

Leave a Reply

