Calmer today…

Standard

I am calmer today.  Thursday was bad, really, really bad.  Friday was only mostly bad.  Saturday was mildly bad.  So far, today.  Not so bad.

We have talked to the medical folks in Anchorage that will be taking care of Dave and they have been beyond kind. 

Dave will go in on Tuesday for further testing and at that point they will get a better idea of what stage the cancer is at.  Initial reports look like it is still early, and we continue to pray that is what is determined this coming week. 

We will know more after Tuesday.  What the course of treatment will be, what the pronosis is, what to expect a little. 

My folks came down to Madison and were with me on Thursday.  That was great.  They took Sunny back to Minnesota with them, and I am really thankful for that.  She will get to spend time with Grandma and Grandpa, as well as see her cousins.  She is too little to really understand what is going on, or why her mom keep crying. 

The boys and I continue with life here for the next few days.  Cleaning the house, playing with friends, swimming at the pool.  This move has been hard on them anyway, no reason to make the last few days here terrible. 

Please keep praying.  For Dave, the kids, me, that the next steps of our move would go smoothly, that our car will make it up there safely, and our few pieces of furniture.  (I know I am not supposed to care about the “worldly possessions” right now, and I don’t really care about those particular possessions, I just want to have something to sit on in Alaska, and sleep on, getting old and the floor is not quite as appealing).

I will update as we have more information.

I promise to blog about the fun stuff too.  Maybe later today.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. Dear Sandie!!

    Friday was difficult for me also, on your behalf. You & your awesome family have been on my mind at night and overnight as well. I am glad that Jim & Cathy SE are back now, I know they are comforting to you. Also your parents. We are looking forward to news on Tuesday, hopefully not terrible news. . . whatever it is, we’ll be with you on this wild ride. Do you have somebody to meet you at the airport? Do you want someone?

  2. Thank you so much for the update. I’m trying to keep from calling you so you can focus on your Madison friends and issues. I’m looking forward to seeing you later on this week.

  3. Sandie, I am sending a BIG hug your way. You know I am feeling for you with this issue since my Family has been there. Please if you need anything let me know. All my Prayers will be with you & Dave & family. Please keep in touch. I miss you already. Melissa

Leave a Reply

