Answered prayer, once again…

Standard

So, I have whined A LOT about this move, and the emotions it has stirred in me.  It has not been easy.  You all have heard that.  I loved/love Madison.  I LOVED LOVED LOVED living near my family.  Our church, no words to describe.  none of that has changed.

One thing I was really worried about was the weather.  I know this is silly, I have lived in Alaska, I survived, even thrived, here before.  But, I have been so happy to have SUMMER while in the Midwest.  Hot hot hot July days.  There is nothing like 90 degrees and a pool or a lake to sit by, play in, soak up the sun.  I have always loved summer.  As a kid I spent all day outside, as a teen I spent all day( and often most of the night) on the beach or in the water.  I never had a beach body, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying every bit of summer. 

So the last 2 summers, it has been a reliving of the carefree days of my (not so distant) youth.  We spent a crazy amount of money to join the community pool in Madison.  It was worth every single penny.  Morning spent at swimming lessons, afternoons and evenings spent lazing, soaking in the sun, visiting with friends, turning a lovely golden color (fat always looks better cooked). 

So I was pretty stressed when I would hear that Alaska was having the coldest summer on record.  All reports were that it has been gray and cold and awful.  And I just couldn’t face it.

So I prayed.  “Please, just a little sun!”

And what do you know…  God answers prayer. 

The weather hasn’t been uniformly gorgeous here, but there has been enough sun and sparkle to keep me out of the depths of despair. 

Today was a spectacular day.  T-shirt weather.  I could have even worn shorts, if I could have found them.  The sun shown all day, still shining bright now at 8:30pm. 

I am thankful.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. When we entered full time ministry, it moved us 2 states away from home. We can get back in about 4 1/2 hours, so it’s not like we crossed the globe or anything. We miss our family, our friends, and our home church as well. But what was taken from us, God replaced with new friends, a new church, and plenty of people willing to be like a second family. We would miss this place if we ever left. Keep trusting God; he knows how to make it all better.

  2. Ditto what they said above (regarding our move from Wasilla to here.) But, thank you so much Sandie for bringing us a little sun! It’s been drippy and lousy all summer long, then you arrive, and there’s a strange yellow orb in the sky! It must be your doing! 😀

  3. You make things always like Sunshine. There is something about your personality that always glows. You make me want to move to Alaska right now. Enjoy Life to the fullest as only you can do. Take care of you & your wonderful Family. Mel

Leave a Reply

