Big day tomorrow…

Standard

Tomorrow (Wednesday), is a big day here at the Lawrence house.  The boys start  school and Dave meets with the surgeons tomorrow afternoon to find out what to expect on Thursday.  We are all a little tense and on edge. 

The kids are stressed out about school, it is a new school, and they will be doing an intensive language program, and they have to wear uniforms, and the nutritional guidelines dictate that they can’t take cookies or candy in their lunch.  I really have no idea how they are going to survive that particular rule.  Cookies are a staple around here. 

Dave is stressed about surgery, and life after.  Or lack of life, as the conversation keeps turning to wills and who will help me with the kids etc. Who would take the kids if both of us die.  Not really cheery topics. 

We will drop the kids off early and then it will be off to hit the gym.  Then Dave and I will meet with the surgeons and Megan will take Sunny out for some Auntie fun.  Then Megan will pick up the boys and bring them back to the house. 

Tomorrow night we will hang out here, waiting for Thursday morning.  And praying.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

8 responses »

  1. Hey Sandie…this is Brenda from Arbor (Michelle’s sister)… just wanted to let you know that I am praying for you…

  2. Wishing you well on school etc. It’s a big day, so exciting, kindergarten, wow! Nuts about the cookies. (How bout cuppycakes?) Seems like I had a recipe somewhere for brownies made with lentils, or cuppycakes made with beets. Hmm.

    Daddy and I have also had the conversation about what happens to the kids after we’re gone (if they are still young.) I would feel more comfortable putting it into writing. But we get stuck on the “who do we trust to raise our children” question. It’s hard.

    We are praying for you guys, surgery, etc. We look forward to hearing good news. . .

  3. Our prayers are with all of you in all your endevors. I miss you so much and especially when I have to walk by the house and not go in. Sandie, just because Megan lifts weights doesn’t mean you have to. You are your own unique person after all!

  4. The best thing about having a guardian for your kids is that then you always have someone who prays that you won’t die until the kids are grown. I Know!!

  5. Hey there…I really am alive and I really am happy you are here in Alaska…I’m also really sad that I haven’t called you yet; apologies. Bobcat had surgery right before you guys got here and then Tony was off for vacation. He went back Monday, the same day we “went back to school”. At this point, with what you’ve got on your plate, I will wait and get hold of you after you guys are through the big stuff….but know that I am ever holding you all up to our God–who is HUGE–who LOVES–and who HEALS. Love you. Jess

  6. Sandie:
    Blessings to all of you on this monumental day. My prayers are for your strength, Dave’s health and your doctors’ skill. God is with you.

    Can you publish (or send to me via email) your new home address and your email address? Some of us might want to send a house warming gift, and I have some cute photos of Kjell and Grant from last month on a CD for you guys.

    Peace now and always. I’d say something in German, but know none. Hi to the kids from the Schroeders!

  7. Sandra & Dave:
    This is the day for both to give thanks for the wounderful family you have and the bright future you will have together. Things will work out for you its just a bump in the road. Keep the faith I’ll say a pray for Dave’s health and quick recovery.

    Todd A. Kimmey

  8. I heard through the grapevine that you are happy with the surgical results. PTL!

    About uniforms. My boys had school uniforms these past few years, now it is time to get middle school “uniforms”. I asked some young teens what we needed to keep our oldest properly dressed. I understand it is shorts for as long as possible – cargo shorts, basketball shorts or jean shorts. Either university or sports teams emblems for tops. I guess at this age it is always uniforms of some sort or other.

Leave a Reply

