And tonight I will sleep, finally…

Standard

So, it is over.  The election is finally over.  And regardless of what party you are affiliated with, it is a pretty good guess there is a sense of relief that it is finally done.

America gets a Democratic President.

Alaska gets their Governor back.

Looks like Alaska has re-elected their now convicted Senator to another term.  Hmmm…. I really wish the guy just would have retired prior to this campaign and bestowed his blessing onto the next generation.  Stevens has been a tireless advocate for Alaska, of this there is no doubt, but frankly, this whole thing has been embarrassing. There is such a thing as a graceful exit, unfortunately, there can’t be one now.  Even re-elected, this is a sad, dark mark on an amazing career that has touched  nearly every Alaskan in some way.  But even amazing careers don’t excuse corruption.   Wow, I have no idea what more to say.  Perhaps career politicians on both sides of the aisle can learn something from this one.  Retire while you are still universally beloved. (ok, so I did have more to say).

I am going to bed now.  I will post more soon, actual pictures of kids, the dog, the story of 13 people sleeping in my house one night last week.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. Four years ago I cried in my sleep. Last night I cried in joy and then slept well throughout the night. What a historic evening!

Leave a Reply

