Halloween…

Standard

I had planned to post pictures of our really great Halloween costumes, but….

in every one of the pictures, in the background, no way to crop out, there was a great shot of our bathroom, and the toilet, on which someone had left up the lid.  I just could not post them.  I will try to get the kids to dress up again and post those. 

in the meantime, sit back, relax and try to imagine while I describe our costumes. Heck, they will probably be better in your imagination.

Sunny was the Tooth Fairy this year.  She wore an off white lace dress, sparkly tiara, draped around her neck were ropes of pearls on which were strung large white felt molars and eye teeth.  She carried a giant toothbrush for a wand.  This was covered in aluminum foil and pearls.  Big pink and orange wings finished off the costume.

Broder was a Celtic warrior, or at least that is what he told us, this costume consisted of black pants and a red shirt, topped with a chain mail tunic.  A blue velvet cape completed the clothing.  On his head he wore a fur hat and over that had a shiny silver helmet.  And most importantly, he carried a whole bunch of weapons. 2 swords, a hatchet, large shield, and a smaller shield.  Perhaps the most amazing thing is that Broder carried all these weapons and still managed to fill a bag of candy. 

Kjell was a Viking(not the football kind).  He wore gray pants, black shirt covered with a brown “leather” tunic.  This was belted with black fur.  His cape was white “fur” with the portions hanging down in front cut to look like the paws and claws of a bear.  he had his helmet and a 4 foot sword, as well as a hatchet type thing. 

Happily, I got to dress up too.  I went as a Daisy this year.  Hung around my neck with a really classy duct tape contraption was a lovely Daisy.  The center was about the size of a large dinner plate and the petals were about 18in long.  A big green stem and a leaf ran down one leg.  The whole flower was nearly 4 ft in diameter.  It was really hard to walk around in. 

I have found that you really can make almost anything out of aluminum foil and duct tape.  Anyone need a prom dress or something?  I could work on commission.

I have no idea why I am telling you all this, probably because the election is over and I am ready to talk about ANYTHING else.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

Leave a Reply

