Snowzilla…

Standard

a few blocks from our house is guy who really seems to love life.  He is a bit eccentric, collecting the odd car and refrig to decorate the lawn.  He would not do well in a sub-division with a lot of covenants.  In Airport Heights (our little piece of Anchorage), however, he thrives. 

For the last few years, from what we understand, he has been making a giant snowman in his front yard.  This creation has been dubbed “Snowzilla” and had made national and international news.  People drive by all day and night to see this thing, and take pictures.  Well, apparently this got a little old for some of the neighbors and a complaint was filed with the city.  The city cited the guy, told him to take Snowzilla down or face some fines.  So, he destroyed the snowman and that was that. 

Or not. 

Within a couple of days, Snowzilla was re-born, bigger than ever.  When questioned, the guy just responded that he had now idea how Snowzilla was re-built, but the “the elves must have worked all night long”.

I have long wished that I could live just this side of the law, it seems like so much fun.  But alas, I was raised Lutheran, in Minnesota, so all hope for that is lost, I remain firmly rooted in guilt and worry.  

There is just enough rebel in me, however, to cheer for this guy and his Snowzilla.  Nearly each night, the dog and I walk by and I wave my hand in salute to the guy watching from the window of the house over which Snowzilla stands guard.

snowzilla

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

