Lots of snow, very little plowing, lots of rain= ICE ROADS!!!!

Standard

We got our first snow on October 1, and essentially we have had snow since that day.  It is my understanding that Alaska often gets snow in the winter, so you would think the city of Anchorage would be rather efficient when it comes to plowing streets. 

That is not the case.  I have been told there is a “system” for getting the roads plowed in Anchorage, and from my observation it goes like this:

“Sometimes we will plow the roads, and other times we won’t.  If there is a lot of snow at any one time, we promise to get to your road within 3 days.  If there is a light covering of snow we will be out there in a couple of hours and we will drag the grater along the pavement showering sparks.”

I live less than 3 miles from downtown Anchorage.  This is not a remote area.  After 3 days, there have been hundreds of cars driving over the snow on the streets and you know what happens then…yep, snow gets packed down. 

Well, we have had a lot of snow this winter, and many many days where the roads were not plowed (at a major intersection near our house there was an ice blob in the turn lane that was 8 inches tall at it’s peak, lovely).  Consequently, there was about 2 inches of packed snow on any of the side streets in town. 

On Tuesday evening, after 2 weeks of below zero temps (way below, -20-30, warming all the way up to -15 during the day), a Chinook wind blew in.  These happen once in a while, and they warm things up.  This one REALLY warmed things up. 

Overnight the temps rose to 40+.  and it started raining, and blowing, and raining some more. 

Guess what happened.  Uh huh, things started to melt, and fast.  Well, except the 2 inches of really hard packed ice on our roads.  that just got covered with an inch or so of water.  During the day.  Then at night, the temp has been dropping again, to about 32+, just enough to freeze. 

So, we haven’t had school for the last 2 days, and no one is going anywhere.  The mail hasn’t even been delivered in our neighborhood. 

Tonight it is supposed to rain and then snow as the temp drops into the low to mid 30’s overnight.  Right now it is 44 and raining. 

I live in East Anchorage, a little ways in from the ocean, so we get a sheltered a bit from the winds and extremes of this Chinook, but a friend on the Hillside said that the winds in her neighborhood was blowing steady at about 60 miles per hour, with gusts over 100 mph.  Our winds are holding it down a bit here, just about 30mph.

So here is a picture of the road in front of my cute little house:ice-roads-002

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

5 responses »

  1. Sandie! I’ve somehow lost your email address AGAIN! I hope you’ll check this soon, and drop me a line. I miss you a lot. I wanted to tell you about some hockey games the girls are playing in this month – perhaps we could come and see you before or after a game if you have the day free. They have one in Eagle River at 3:15 on saturday the 17th; also in ER Sunday the 18th at 5:45; In Anch sat the 24th at 2:30 ; in ER Sunday the 25th at 2:00 and in Anch on friday the 30th at 6:00. Additionally, on saturday the 31st Bob has a company party that I DO NOT want to go to in Anch. But I do think I’ll go into town so as to drive him home, since there will be an open bar ;P Haha! Anyway if any of those sound like they could be points of contact, let me know! I think we will see a lot more of each other when school is out. At least, I hope so!!!
    Marjie

  2. Glad to hear school was out for you too… I worried about you driving across town in your weather conditions…. at least in Haines no one gets ‘up to speed’ and we haven’t far to go (and my observation of Anchorage traffic is it’s frenetic!… no matter the conditions…)
    Enjoy your time out 🙂
    hugs to my kids

Leave a Reply

