Mudflap girls, bumper stickers and license plates….

Standard

I think that Alaska has more personalized license plates than any other state, certainly more per capita.  Every other car has a chatty plate.  I think they are a hazard.  I spend so much time trying to figure out what they mean, and why! 

The other day I was in traffic and in front of me was a car that sported a plate that said LUVGOD, and behind me was one that said PRA2GOD.  I have seen TRILL, AKFISH, HUNTR, HUNTER, FSHBOY, AKGIRL, MNGIRL, KNOGOD, NOGOD, BRATTY, GIRLY, 2FAST, 4U2TRY (really), PALIN(not kidding), AKCAMP, KCATCH, 5RDHDS,(family of redheads) YOLK(this is a yellow VW Bug), ALUMN, DOGMOM, PRAYON, TRPHWF(Iwant this one), BADMOM(why would you admit this), SK8ER, HKYMOM, GOALY, HILBLY, REDNEK(ooh, be proud), ROTTEN. I will keep track so I can regal you with tales of more at a later date. 

And bumper stickers, they are everywhere:  Palin/McCain, Obama, Drive like You Stole it (Huh?), Ron Paul, I love the Chugach, Why Couldn’t I Be Rich Instead Of Well Hung (yep, guess which license plate was his?), Super Sperm (again, why?), Choose Hope, Choose Life, I Love the Goddess, I Am The Goddess, MidWives Help People Out (I love this one).  Go Green, Never Drive Faster Than Your Guardian Angel Can Drive, If You Are Going To Ride My ***, at Least Pull My Hair (really, this is your statement to the world?), Driver Is Armed, I Value This Car More Than I Value Your Life, I Brake for Chocolate, Moose are People too (hmmm, perhaps a biology lesson is in order), Friends Don’t Let Friends Eat Farmed Fish. 

And then there are the Mudflap girls:  you know what I am talking about, the silhouettes of the VERY curvy girls that you used to see on the mudflaps of the 18 wheelers.  I have always been a bit creeped out by these, I could never figure out why anyone would put these on their trucks, they are just SO tacky.  I really didn’t think they could get any worse.  But, I was wrong.  Now they are everywhere, really everywhere.  In sticker form on the the back windows of cars, trucks, and still on the mudflaps.  And there are new and even more tacky versions of this charming little girl.  One parent at school drives a truck with a SheDevil on the left side of her rear window, and a SheAngel on the right.  Both of these Shes are impossibly stacked and wearing seriously high heels, the SheDevil is carrying a whip. (this inspired a very lively discussion with the boys and the girl)  And now there is the FatGirl Mudflap Girl.  Yep, the reclining silhouette of a woman built like me.  Big huge thighs, belly resting on said thighs,  a beauty complete with double chin.  Let me tell you right now, if Dave EVER came home with one of those on the truck…. 

Anyway, lots of rambling tonight. I had no plan when I wrote this post, obviously!   Just wanted to share.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

6 responses »

  1. Sandie, this will bring you back to Wisconsin. I saw a license recently that said IMSBRT….in other words, “I miss Brett”…as in Brett Favre, the former quarterback of the Green Bay “Backpackers!”

    with infinite hope, Jim

  2. Oh those mudflap girls. ugh. I kinda like the vanity plates, makes life interesting. But yeah it would be distracting in the city. 😉

  3. LOVE the bumper stickers. I had a bf in college whose mom traveled around the country, getting people with bumper stickers to pull over so she could take pictures and interview them. Hilarious–the book is called BUMPER STICKER WISDOM…you might have to write the sequel. 🙂

  4. We never had personalized license plates til we moved to Alaska. We kept reading all of them along the drive from Chicago to Anchorage and decided it’d be fun to have our own, so much of the road trip consisted of thinking up what we should get on ours (And Kate stopping to pee – she was pregnant). I started out with CUBFAN but we ended up with MT 2MB (empty tomb).

  5. I love racing to see who can figure out the lisence plate first. I think i am in the land of the bumper stickers, if you don’t have at least 10 on your car around here you just aren’t trying. lol!
    do you happen to know where i can get a “I love the Chugach” sticker or shirt? I’ve been searching for them for 2 years now.
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

