Vacation, vacation, vacation….

Standard

It was a busy 3 weeks.  We packed a lot of fun and family and food into those 21 days.  And yet, there were so many people I did not get to see.  And those I did see, it was not enough.  But, we had a great time, and we made it home safely.  Can’t ask for much more than that.

We left Anchorage March 24, taking a non-stop red eye to Minneapolis.  Somehow, the captain and crew found out that it was Kjell’s birthday on the 25th and around midnight, the senior attendant showed up at Kjell’s seat with a piece of fudge cake.  Kjell was completely impressed.  As we began our descent into Minneapolis, the Captain came on and wished Kjell a happy birthday.  The entire plane clapped and said Happy Birthday, and my 12 year old was beaming , beaming, beaming.  It was adorable. 

We spent the first day and night wth mom and dad.  All the kids soaked up a little grandparent time and I enjoyed having a few hours of mom and dad before the whirlwind that defines my trips to Minnesota began. 

By dinner time, the first of my siblings arrived!  Yipppeee.  It is so great being a part of a large family.

The next night found us at my sister Lucy’s house.  All 5 of her girls were around at one time or another and the cousins had so much fun.  Lucy and I stayed up until about 2am, laughing and talking and laughing some more.  Her kids were on spring break, and that was just wonderful, as they are so busy we would have had a hard time fitting in a visit otherwise. 

I will break this trip into several posts, as to not overwhelm!

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

Leave a Reply

