51 years…

Standard

  Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad! 

 Last year we celebrated my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary with a big party at their house in Minnesota.  This year I made a phone call.  

But, as much as I love a good party, I am thankful for this 51, even more than I was for 50.

In a little over a month, Dave and I will have been married 17 years. This seems hard to believe.  And I know that making it to 17 is in large part due to my folks making it to 51.  The example they have set forth, living out those vows nearly every married couple repeats: 

For better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish until death do us part.

Over the last 38 years (34 of them that I can remember) I have seen them do those very things:

Love and Cherish

in each of the aforementioned circumstances:

for better, worse, richer, poorer, sickness and health.

51 years.

Thanks, Mom and Dad!

I love you.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

5 responses »

  1. Okay, that made me cry. Isn’t it nice to be part of a still intact family? I always appreciate the fact that my parents made it through their tough times and are still together after 43 years.

    Thanks for the great post.

    alicia

  2. So your mom and dad are visiting in Albertville — seeing the grandikds, having supper and playing 5 Crowns. I got tham on a computer and your mom read this post and the one about Roy. Mavis: “Thanks for the 51st “what you call it”!

    BJP

Leave a Reply

