I don’t take a lot of pictures…

Standard

I feel this is one of my biggest failings as person, and as a mother.  My kids will not have albums upon album to look back upon, or external hard drives filled with photos.

I am not an artist, I don’t have that special something that allows some people to take a blank canvas or lump of clay and make something lovely.

I, do however, fancy myself a storyteller- not an author, I am not that bold, but a teller of tales, both the true and the legend.   Someone who, on a good day, can take the words and put them together in just the right order, and sometimes the person reading those words or listening to them can leave where they are sitting and join me in the story.

I am compelled to tell these stories, for my kids especially.  the life that Dave and I have chosen, decisions about careers and school, mean that our kids  will not have a childhood  home that they can always come back to, a familiar building where the memories lurk in every corner.  For Kjell, Broder and Sunny, their childhood is not so much about where we are, but what we do.  And the memories of what we do, the everyday, and the extra special, the joyous and the frightening. This is what they will have.

So, I tell my family and friends and strangers these stories, in hopes that the pictures I don’t take can somehow be recreated with vowels and consonants, and inflection and punctuation.

I tell the stories in print and out loud, and sometimes in my head, to anyone who will listen and some who don’t.

The stories are my photo album.

 

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

6 responses »

  1. I LOVE your stories! I especially love to hear your voice tell them. Although, when I read your stories, I can totally “hear” your voice anyway! I have the worst memory ever…but somehow your stories stick with me. I mean seriously…who could EVER forget about the Lord’s Van??

  2. Hi Sandy,

    I check your blog all the time, and I’m not on Facebook, so I’m glad you are writing here again.

    My little girls are getting out of the tub, so I’ll get them to bed now.

  3. Makes me think of Grandma Arlene writing down her stories for us. We get one every birthday that is specifically for us, and at Christmas she shares one too. Keep writing down all your precious thoughts and memories. You have a knack for it!

  4. I asked my dad several years to write down his stories but he never got time to do it. Now it’s too late. He used to say that his dad, also, had lots of stories and Dad wished that they had been written down. Family history, gone. 😦

    Nice snow, btw.

Leave a Reply

