Next Tuesday…

Standard

I will drive my oldest child to the international terminal at the airport:  hug him, kiss him, and weep like a crazy woman as he prepares to board the plane.

That plane will leave Anchorage,  fly over the North Pole, and land in Frankfurt, Germany, where Kjell will begin a 5 week adventure.

I am completely excited for him, and completely unprepared to let him go.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. Agonizing, isn’t it?

    Without meaning to sound self advertising, I wrote a blog on this subject entitled Joie de Vivre — it is somewhere on my site as I am still figuring out how to work WordPress. I would eventually like an attractive little list like yours outlining what I’ve been haranguing about.

    Your last sentence speaks volumes. My thoughts are with you.

  2. I had something great and profound to say about letting children go, then the kids got loud and screamy and I forgot it. Sorry. Oh well. Instead I will say that I pray you will handle this well! Tomorrow is the big day so I hope that today is wonderful for you all.

Leave a Reply

