The first month of summer…

Standard

Our first month of summer is over, and wow, what a month it has been!

We have been going full speed ahead since May 6, when my friend Kathie and 2 of her boys, Peter and Anders came for a 10 day visit.  That same week, we got a surprise ( and somewhat heart-stopping) visit from Roy and Carol (my beloved in laws) who came to Anchorage for some urgent medical testing.  Things turned out ok on that front, and we look forward to them coming back in November for some follow up appointments/treatment.

While Kathie and crew were here, we got to get in a little bit of early season hiking, and lots of visiting!  It is good to have friends that like the sound of your voice.

Kathie returned home on May 17 and 3 days later my sister Carol, her husband Brad and their sweet little girls, Beata and Lydia came for a 10 day visit.  Our kids finished school that day and we began to play full force.

May 25th found us at the airport, sending Kjell off on his grand adventure!  5 weeks in Germany!

Then it was off to Talkeetna, a charming little town about 2 hours north of Anchorage.  We stayed in a cabin there, and enjoyed a couple of days away from work.

Carol and her family left on Memorial Day, Dave flew back to work the next day, and on June 1st, I woke up early and caught a ride with a friend to the local surgery center where I had some repair work done on my right shoulder.

On June 2nd, while still in a narcotics induced fog, I accepted a new job.

So, on June 8, I returned to work at the church and gave them my notice.

And that was the first month of summer….

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

Leave a Reply

