A new job…

Standard

On July 6, I will begin a new job.    I am terribly excited, and I am terrified!

I have not worked a traditional full time job in over 13 years.  I did work during the years Dave was in Grad school, and I worked hard, but those jobs were at night, and the kids were much younger, and Dave was home every evening. I worked those jobs out of need.  our family had to eat!  I knew those jobs were not forever jobs, there was an end to those, someday Dave would be done with school and be back in the work force.

But this time it is different.

I am choosing to work.

The story it quite long and involved, so I will jump to the end and work in what is needed from there.   3 weeks ago I was offered, and accepted, a job working in the front office for a group of midwives.  I would love to tell you that I am going to be a midwife someday, and I truly hope and pray that someday…

But for now, I will be working in the office, greeting the moms and the babies and the dads, answering phones and questions, and learning as much as I can about the practice of midwifery.  Both the business  and the hands on aspects of providing total care for women.  I am approaching this as my stint in grad school.  There is so much to learn.

I am thrilled to be working with a group of women who are committed to providing options for women as they birth their babies.  And I am thrilled to be working with a group of women who are committed to making sure that women from every walk of life, every economic situation have comprehensive OB and GYN health care. I passionately believe that women should have choices regarding birth, and EVERY woman should have access to basic health care.

But like I said, I have not worked a traditional full time job in a long long time.

And I know that this schedule, 8:30-5 Monday-Thursday, will impact my family.

I have loved being home with my kids, and I have loved being home now that all my kids are in school.  I have had the luxury of making meals at the last minute, of spending lots of time exploring the best coffee and card shops in Anchorage.  I have had loads of time to spend at the kids’ school, and time to spend doing stuff at church.  And I have had loads of time to fritter away reading, surfing the net, playing on FB or reading the billions of blogs that are out there!

So things will change.  I will just have to learn to be more efficient.  I will have to plan ahead for meals, I imagine that my crockpots will be pressed into service on a regular basis.  I will take a page out my friend Kristine’s playbook, and REALLY learn to love my calendar.

The kids are only getting busier, and Dave is only getting more involved at work, so sometimes, when I think about this, it seems like a crazy time to add more to our life, but at the same time, I know it is right.

I have never cared about having a “career”.  I have always said I would be perfectly happy working a job that just paid the bills, if it was somewhere I REALLY wanted to work.

And I am certain this is that kind of place.

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

One response »

  1. This job is so perfect for you…I can’t imagine a better one. I’m excited for you and can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

