My sister has long warned me…

Standard

that once I get to a certain age,  1 of 3 things will happen:  either I will go bald, or my breasts will become freakishly large, or I will begin to lose my mind.

I am now 40.

My stylist (or as I like to call him, Eric the Magnificent), says I have great hair, and loads of it.

And I have been “amply endowed” for quite a while, and age has not made much of a difference.

So, I figured that MY fate would be to lose my mind.

And today, that happened.

As of 8:02 Alaska Time, I am officially registered for the Gold Nugget Triathlon.

On May 15th, I will swim, bike and run my way through a course with 1499 other women.

I have been training (loosely) for this for a few months now, but am nowhere near ready.  Good thing there are 10 weeks to race day.

My dear friends, Myrna, Lisa, and Kristine are registered too, and I am looking forward to the next couple months when we train together, and especially that moment when we all meet up at the finish line.

 

 

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

3 responses »

  1. Good for you! That will be a terrific accomplishment and so good for you physically. I’d be there to cheer you on if I could. Guess I’ll just have to do so from afar,

Leave a Reply

