Where in the world is Dave?

Standard

Right now, my beloved husband is in that vacation hot-spot, Dutch Harbor, Alaska. 

800 air-miles from Anchorage, near the beginning of the Aleutian Island chain. 

He has always wanted to go to Dutch Harbor(when I think island travel I think Tahiti, but whatever). Last week  when the chance arose to travel there for work, Dave waved his hands wildly, screaming “pick me, pick me”.  And they did.   

I am truly happy for him.  This has been something he has talked about ever since we were first married(15 bliss filled years ago).  I can’t wait to hear the stories and see the pictures. 

For now, a map of the area will have to do.

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&time=&date=&ttype=&q=Dutch+Harbor+Alaska&ie=UTF8&ll=62.512318,-148.710937&spn=29.708759,82.441406&z=3&om=1

About Sandie

A little background: A mother of 3, two boys and a girl. Married young to a good man. No longer young, but he is still a good man. Grew up in the suburbs of Minneapolis, lived several years in small town Alaska, spent a couple years in the city of Madison, currently residing not too far from down town Anchorage. Drink a crazy amount of coffee. Fiercely loyal to my friends. Truly rabid in my defense of family. Beyond thankful that my God loves me enough to allow me to doubt and question.

2 responses »

  1. My father-in-law used to talk about the “Alaska Lottery.” First prize was one week in Bethel. Second prize? TWO weeks in Bethel. 🙂

    Did you know–the largest halibut ever caught (over 1000 lbs) was caught out of Dutch Harbor? Caught on commercial gear–didn’t qualify for the record books.

    My “better half” says Hi. 15 bliss-filled years. . . wow . . . (“sounds like a disease” he says.) hey, we’re up to 8! Who’d’a thunk it?

Leave a comment